Home > Birth advocacy, Links, Videos > Drive by Link Post

Drive by Link Post

Instead of always posting my favorite links up on Facebook all the time, I was thinking I should take some time and write more posts here, including them!

This video by Heather Cushman-Dowdee (AKA Hathor the Cow Goddess, also mama-is dot com, and author of one of the many books on my to-read list) is so right on about many hospital births. I’ve heard the stories, and even experienced it myself. Hilariously depressing.

_____

Outlaw Midwives vol. 1 is out and awesome. I think I need to re-read it later to fully absorb it. I was turning the online pages and just admiring the words and thinking about the work and love this took to create.

My favorite quote? “A community is only as empowered as its mothers.”

_____
Finally, a post by Gloria Lemay on retained placenta and some tricks that may help:

Molly, I am confident about your placenta coming out smoothly after the birth.
There will be no rush and no need to do anything except enjoy the amazing feeling of that slippery, soft, delicious newborn in your arms. It is the little (or big) sounds of the baby and the skin to skin contact that floods the body with oxytocin and clamps the uterus down around the placenta.”

Now, only because your busy mind needs to have some “things to do”, I’m going to give you some tricks to get the placenta out naturally that I have heard about over the years:
1. Sniff a little bit of pepper to make yourself sneeze. Sneezing will expel the placenta (same principle as when you pee a bit when you sneeze)
2. Blow hard into a narrow necked bottle. Blowing into a bottle uses those diaphragm muscles that make you bear down
3. Have someone stick two fingers down your throat to make you gag (this is something that was done in the Far North of Canada by an Inuit grandmother to help her grand daughter get her placenta birthed. I filed it in a corner of my mind but have never used it, sounds a bit harsh but was apparently effective).
4. Buy a bedpan. If the placenta doesn’t come out with you reclining and enjoying your baby, you could sit on the bedpan after the cord is cut and just bending your body forward in a safe space will probably give you the feeling of “needing to push” and out the placenta will plop.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

